Growing Your Social Capital

1) One person must be a domain expert in your industry.

The person that I spoke to was a technician at the dealer that I get my car serviced. This is the master technician at Volkswagen of Gainesville. I got in contact with this person because he is the person that regularly services my car. I take my business to him and in return, I pay him for his services. Including this person in my network is important because if something happens to my car, I can rely on him to get the proper services completed on my car.

 

2) One person must be an expert on your market.

The person that I spoke that I spoke to was a manager at Advanced Autoparts. This makes him an expert in this field because he has done it for more than 5 years. He understands the market and the prototypical customer that would use this device. The nature of the exchange was I asked for assistance and I received the knowledge that the representative had from their training.

 

3) One person must be an important supplier to your industry.

The person that I spoke to was a technician at AutoZone. This will be the supplier of the product and will be able to sell this product the best place to sell the product. I found this person by simply going to the store and getting feedback from one of the representatives. The nature of the exchange was I asked for assistance and I received the knowledge that the representative had from their training.

 

This activity will help shape my future networking opportunities by understanding the different levels of the market of they can be penetrated on each level. This experience was much more in-depth than the previous networking experiences I have had.

One thought on “Growing Your Social Capital

  1. I think it is very important to talk to the people who are on the front lines of your product line and will have to most impact on how your customers buy and experience the product. You could have the best product in the world, but if the point of contact with the consumer is poor, then no one will want to buy what you are selling.

    Like

Leave a comment